About PSAECO PSAECO Member Associations PSAECO Memeber Delegates PSAECO Conferences PSAECO Calendar of Events PSAECO Officers Minutes Bylaws
Home / About Us


  • Act as liaison between state organizations and the General Assembly
  • Assist in creating a more effective and efficient government
  • Open lines of communication in government
  • Achieve uniformity and cooperation in government at all levels
  • Work with the Local Government Commission and Local Government Committees in the House and Senate to promote legislation
     that will enhance the function of government
  • To serve local government by representing its interests before the legislature


PSAECO, founded in 1956, originally met at the Dauphin County Courthouse and moved to Room 633 of the Capital Building on September 23, 1974. After moving to the Senate Minority Caucus Room in April of 1985, PSAECO met in that chamber until moving to the Senate Majority Caucus Room in December of 1997.

We meet quarterly with the Local Government Commission.

The Local Government Commission, created in 1935 by an Act of the Assembly is one of the oldest agencies of its kind in the United States.  The Commission is comprised of five Senators and five House Members, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and Speaker of the House, respectively.

The current members are as follows:

  • Senator Robert D. Robbins, Chairman
  • Senator Edwin B. Erickson
  • Senator John H. Eichelberger, Jr.
  • Senator J. Barry Stout
  • Senator John N. Wozniak
  • Representative Robert Freeman
  • Representative David R. Kessler
  • Representative Richard T. Grucela
  • Representative Chris Ross
  • Representative Mauree Gingrich

The Executive Director is Michael P. Gasbarre. The former Executive Director was Virgil F. Puskarich.  Virgil was the Executive Director for 30 years and passed away on January 4, 2004.  Because of his dedication to PSAECO, we now give an annual award in his honor:  "The Virgil F. Puskarich Award for Excellence in Government".  The first recipient in 2005 was Senator Robert D. Robbins.  We give this award at our annual Legislative Appreciation Dinner in December.

Virgil F. Puskarich Virgil F. Puskarich was an Educator, Community Leader, and a Public Servant.  We knew him best as the Executive Director of the Local Government Commission, an office he held for 30 years.  Virgil helped, guided and touched the lives of so many citizens and local and state officials.  The life and work of Virgil F. Puskarich have earned for him this memorial acknowledgment:  "Well done thou good and faithful servant."

     Senate Box 203078
     Main Capitol Building
     Harrisburg, PA 17120-3078
     Phone   717-787-7680
     Fax    717-772-4524

 - Past Presidents
 - Useful Links

Home | About Us | Association Members | Member Delegates | Conferences | Calendar | Officers | Minutes | Bylaws

© Copyright 2006, PSAECO - Pennsylvania State Association of Elected County Officials

Go back to the PSAECO Home PageGo back to the PSAECO Home Page